West Florida AHEC, New Directions in Community Health

"Educating Toward a Healthier Community"

Okaloosa County

Okaloosa County includes Baker, Crestview, Destin, Eglin Air Force Base, Fort Walton Beach, Holt, Mary Esther, Niceville and Valparaiso.  With 24 miles of spectacular sugar-white sand beaches and transparent green waters, Okaloosa County is commonly referred to as Florida’s Emerald Coast and is one of the many reasons the beaches of Okaloosa County continue to be named the #1 beach in the south by Southern Living Magazine.  Additionally, Destin has been named “one of the 10 best places to live and boat” (Boating Magazine, June 2011) and rated “one of the top 25 destinations in the United States by Trip Advisor” for 2011.  While Okaloosa County is heavily influenced by its diverse community – tourism, military and rural areas – it continues to grow to near 190,000 residents.


In addition to the tourism industry, Okaloosa County is home to distinctive museums and is continuously finding creative ways to celebrate its history and culture:

Learn more about Okaloosa County:

Disclaimer: the above list does not include all cities and/or towns in Okaloosa County.

Switch to our mobile site